A question concerning Alea Evangelii

cgrn asked:

Hi. I am not a professor or anything, but I would like to learn more about Alea Evangelii and your link came up. Do you know if the original manuscript has been translated into English by anyone? and is it possible to get a copy of the translation? I am interested to find out more about the original meanings behind the game. I would be very grateful for any information. Thanks for your help.

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to ask me a question. I have been searching a bit and found that the part of the manuscript concerning Alea Evangelii has been translated in this article: “Game-Playing, Moral Purpose, and the Structure of “Pearl””, Michael Olmert, The Chaucer Review (if you sign up for a free account on JStor you can read it for free here: Olmert article).

I also found an interesting discussion on this forum, the people involved also post translations of the manuscript to discuss how the game was played.

I hope this helps. Don’t hesitate to ask more questions if you need any more information, I’m glad to help.

– Christel

One thought on “A question concerning Alea Evangelii

Leave a Reply

